Monday, 26 March 2018

14 EU countries join Trump, expel Russian diplomats over poisoning in UK in unprecedented show of support for Britain

Fourteen European Union countries on Monday expelled Russian diplomats, a top official said, after the bloc last week sided with Britain in blaming Moscow over the poisoning of a former Russian spy.

"Already today, fourteen member states have decided to expel Russian diplomats," Tusk told a news conference in the Black Sea city of Varna.

"Additional measures, including further sanctions within the common EU framework, cannot be excluded in the coming days and weeks," he said.

This came as President Donald Trump reportedly ordered the expulsion of 60 Russians from the United States and the closure of the Russian consulate in Seattle.


Post a comment